Web Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter


Daman, formerly (Portuguese) Damão, town, capital of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu union territory, western India. The town, together with numerous villages in the surrounding area, forms an enclave in southeastern Gujarat state and is situated on the Gulf of Khambhat (Cambay) of the Arabian Sea.

Known as Damão, the town was part of Portuguese India. The town was sacked and burned by the Portuguese in 1531. It was subsequently rebuilt, and in 1559 it was again taken by the Portuguese, who made it a permanent settlement. Damão became a flourishing port, but its importance waned with the decline of Portuguese sea power. The settlement remained under Portuguese rule until it was taken over by India in December 1961, at which time it became part of the union territory of Goa, Daman, and Diu. In 1987, after Goa became a state of India, the town was designated the capital of the union territory of Daman and Diu. It became the capital of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu union territory when Dadra and Nagar Haveli union territory merged with Daman and Diu union territory in 2020.

The town of Daman, which has a fort, is the centre of the territory’s business activities. The surrounding area is traversed by the Daman Ganga River. Rice is the main crop of the region, but wheat has been introduced. Daman has a dairy and some light industry. Fishing and tapping of the toddy palm for its juice are also important. Ghol, a dried fish product used in making isinglass (a type of mica), is exported to Europe. Pop. (2001) 35,770; (2011) 44,282.

Source link

No comments

Leave a Reply